Ribera del Duero Wines - Regions

The lands that are grouped under the Denomination of origin "Ribera del Duero" are located in the north plateau and in the confluence of four provinces integrated in the Autonomous Community of Castile and Leon: Burgos, Segovia, Soria and Valladolid. The Duero river is the axis that unites more than 100 towns extended along a wine stripe of about 115 Kilometers long and 35 of width.


Ribera del Duero Wines - Regions


Climatological conditions

The specific climatological conditions that characterise vine-growing in the Ribera del Duero have a great influence throughout the vegetative cycle of the vines, playing a fundamental role in the development of the plant and ripening of the grape. To a great extent, the quality of the drinks obtained depends on those special conditions.

The climate of the Ribera del Duero area is characterised in broad terms by moderate to low rainfall (400-600 mm average annual rain) that, together with its dry summers and long, rigorous winters and sudden temperature changes throughout the year, is of a Mediterranean type whose primordial feature is continentality.


Geological characteristics

The Ribera del Duero is within the great northern meseta of the Iberian Peninsula, made up of a a large, ancient plinth scored and partly covered by Tertiary sediments. Most of the volume of these sediments is made up of more or less lenticular layers of silty or clayey sand, and the alternation of layers, both of limestones and marls and even of calcareous concretions, is a notable feature.

The river basin, formed during the Miocene, displays gently rolling horizontal levels limited by differential erosion, and today converted into peneplain. The relief of the zone ranges between interfluvial zones with peaks of 911 metrres, and valleys from 750 to 850 metres in altitude.